Thanksgiving’s on the way…

Obviously I’ve been away from this for a while. I didn’t know what to write or when I did, I forgot. Nice. I’m still living at my Nana’s and it’s going alright. My sister K informed me the other night that “you know you’re first in line to change her diapers, right?” Not that she’s anywhere near that stage in life, but I told her that yes, in fact, I was thinking of that the other day. She’s 83, Nana not K, and although she’s in great health, I can picture the day when I’ll have to make sure her hair is brushed, face washed, bathed, etc. I’ve done it before when I worked at a nursing home, but it’s something different when it’s a relative. Imagine having to take care of your grandmother like that? Sure we have the same parts and stuff, but it still should remain a mystery and things like that, you don’t really want to put a visual with. Ya know? Okay, enough about that…just know that if the time ever comes I would be the good granddaughter that I am, and step up.

On the WW I haven’t done very well lately. Last week I gained 3 point something pounds and this week I gained 2.8 pounds. Well holy shit! This week I did weigh in wearing jeans and a heavier shirt, so the leader said it’s more than likely the weight of my clothes, but damn! I’ve been in a rut lately with WW and I’m sure part of it is that I live in a house where there is junk food (ie shit) laying around everywhere! Plus my ‘roomie’ eats unhealthy foods as well. And I know I’ve done poorly because I’ve made bad choices. I’ve felt frumpy and have been having a bit of a pity party for myself lately and I’ve gone back to old habits.  Before WW, whenever I got down, was depressed, felt frumpy, whatever you wanna call it, I’d eat. Feeding my feelings. I’m not sure why I’m letting it get to me lately, but I need to get back on track. I talked to Nana and she said she needs to eat healthier too, so if she’d just try new things and let me do the cooking, then I think it would be better for the both of us. I made it to a 72.8lb weight loss a couple of weeks ago and now I’m back to 67lb weight loss. It’s still a good number, but come on, who wants to go backwards? haha…

Can you believe that Thanksgiving is now less than 2 weeks away? It’s probably my favorite holiday. Not just because of the great food, but it’s just family & friends getting together to celebrate everything we have to be thankful for and there isn’t the pressure of gift giving like with Christmas. Although I LOVE giving gifts….what can I say? I’m a giver. So Thanksgiving this year is going to be at mom’s. It’s always been at Nana’s but, thankfully, mom let Nana and everyone else know it’s at her house this year! Yeah Mom!!!! It will be odd this time around because sister B will be in Alabama and Brother W and his family are going to be at his wife’s parents house this year. Of course we’ll still have turkey and titties rest assured! I’m not sure if I’ve talked about it before, but every year after the turkey dinner, all the siblings gather at the local strip club. It’s not so much for the ladies as it is to just gather with friends/family and drink some beer. We do it every year and it’s always great fun! Who doesn’t want to wake up in the wee hours of Black Friday with a hangover? Nothing like kamakaze shopping with a headache. Good times! Speaking of which, I’m not sure there’s anyone on the planet who loves Black Friday shopping more than I do. I even went by myself last year, which is something I rarely do…shop by myself. But hey, if you don’t have anyone to go with, why not? I hope Target has some good stuff for sale this year! I LOVE Target!!

Anyway, in keeping with the Thanksgiving talk, here are a few things I’m thankful for:

1. My family – I may complain about them, but I wouldn’t have anyone else.

2. Living with my Nana – she’s crazier than a shithouse rat at times, but I wouldn’t trade her for anything either.

3. My friends – a small, select group of friends who make it all better.

4. working – sure I don’t get paid enough, but there are a lot of people out there who don’t have a job at all.

5. Life in general. I’m thankful everyday I wake up and blessed to have this life.

 

I hope everyone has something to be thankful for this year.

Leave a Reply

