Catching up.

It’s been a while since I’ve been on here. I guess maybe because I haven’t had much to say or not anything I wanted to say. I’ve disappointed myself with WW. I’ve missed the last three meetings at first, it was just missing the Friday meeting but I was going to go to the Saturday one to make up for it. Saturday came and went – no WW. No worries, I’ll go next week. Next week came and went – no WW. Okay, seriously? Third week came and still no WW. That’s where I’m at today. I figured I had gained some good amount of weight and didn’t want it staring me in the face. I felt like a failure. Why pay $12 bucks a week when I wasn’t doing what I was supposed to do. Sure I’ve lost 70lbs and while I’m not saying that’s not an accomplishment in itself,  I just have a lot more that I need to lose. It’s time to get back on the horse, so to speak, and do what I know I should be doing. Nana and I talked about it all on Sunday and we’re going to start walking together and planning out menus. Holy Shit!!! That’s fantastic news. Now if we can stick to it. Even if she doesn’t, I will. I’m back in the saddle. Hahaha….

Recently there were a rash of wildfires here in the great state of Oklahoma. A couple of hard hit areas were Midwest City and Choctaw. Hard hit in the fact that there were complete streets turned into giant ash piles. Yeah we have tornadoes and they do a lot of destruction, but there is usually something to sift through and save. Fire is complete devastation. There isn’t anything to ‘sift through’. When you go back to your house and all you have is one brick pilar standing, how do you go on from there? I helped out with the Red Cross and let me tell you, I love them. What an organization! They are the first ones to show up and lend a hand. If I ever come into a lot of money, I’ll be sure and give to them. Even with my meager wages, I want to give to them. Did you know that all of the financial assistance they give out is from the donations they receive? And it’s free to the people that need it. There is no repaying the help you get. Unless you want to become a volunteer and give your time. (which I think everyone should do at least once in their life) It definitely gives you a ‘warm fuzzy’ when you can put a little smile on someone’s face…someone who just lost their house to fire, tornado, flood, etc. Even if it’s just for a minute, it’s completely worth it. One of the most touching things was a gentleman wanting to give me a hug and he was worried because he smelled of smoke. After we hugged he told me I was his angel. If that doesn’t make you feel good, nothing will!

Leave a Reply

