What a month.

April is almost over. Yeah. Not that I’ve had anything really bad happen to me this month, but it seems like it’s been one heck of a roller coaster. I learned about the loss of a precious angel, via Twitter, around the first week of April. Her name is Madeline Alice Spohr. She was 17 months old. She passed away on April 7th. Her parents are Heather and Mike Spohr. While I didn’t know know about them before their loss, I’ve read past blogs from both of them and feel like I’ve “known” them for years. Maddie was born 11 weeks too early and had complications from the beginning. They almost lost her several times in her first few days of life. Her tiny lungs gave her a lot of trouble, but she prevailed. To look at the many pictures of her, you would see a beautiful, angelic child with a grin as big as anything. You wouldn’t know she had to use oxygen at night to help out with her breathing. In almost every picture of her she has that beautiful smile. You can tell she is well loved and was the heart of that family. Ever since I heard about sweet Maddie, there hasn’t been a day that’s gone by that I haven’t thought about her, Heather, or Mike. I check their websites daily, sometimes more than once a day, to see how they are or if they’ve posted anything new. I’ve noticed the color purple a lot! (It’s Maddie’s color and the official color of the MoD) When Grey’s Anatomy was on last week, I sat there thinking, “I hope Heather isn’t watching this.” One of the story lines has a young girl passing away. Knowing Maddie’s story makes you appreciate the people in your life more, to not take for granted that they are going to be there tomorrow, to let the little things slide.  While I’m not a parent and couldn’t even begin to know the hell they are going through, my heart breaks for them. There have been hundreds of well wishers posting to their sites (www.thespohrsaremultiply.com and www.thenewbornidentity.com ) their condolences and it’s amazing to see/read the outpouring of love for this young family. Their sunshine girl has certainly made a huge impact on the world in her very short life. March of Dime walks have been started in memory of Maddie. Thousands of dollars have been raised for MoD. I know I plan on contributing in honor of her. It’s very sad that a parent has to lose a child for more awareness to be brought to a subject. Very injust. No parent should outlive their child. Throughout this terrible time, I’ve seen how courageous people can be. Heather and Mike, sharing how they are, the things they are going through, still keeping us informed. I saw a quote a week or so ago that made me think of them too. “Courage is not simply one of the virtues, but the form of every virtue at the testing point.” -C.S. Lewis. They are courageous, inspiring, and brave. Thank you to the Spohrs for sharing your sunshine girl with us and for continuing to share your life with us, the internet world. You will always be in our thoughts and prayers. God Bless You.

There were family birthday’s this month. Sister B and Brother W turned 28 and 37, respectively. Sister is still living in AL and from what I hear, is doing much better these days. She’s working her ass off and that’s tragic because she didn’t have one to begin with! Brother P went for a visit last week and from what he told me, Man! they had a good time. For Brother W’s birthday we went to a new Mexican restaurant – Mama Roja. Wow is that place spectacular!!! We were there for 5 hours! I’ve never been at a restaurant for that amount of time. We really enjoyed ourselves. If you get the chance to go, GO! Great food, service, patio seating, etc. It is definitely a new favorite. In fact, we’ll be going there to celebrate Mother’s Day on the 10th.  I love Mexican food, so I’m sure I will try and go there as much as my bank account will let me. LOL…

 So good-bye April. It was a roller coaster of a month and I hope May doesn’t follow in your path.

Leave a Reply

