Pulmonary Hypertension

Those two words scare me. It’s a possibility I have that, or secondary pulmonary hypertension. (because of my horrible sleep apnea) It’s also a possibility that I don’t have it. I did all my heart tests last week, and 1 chest x-ray, and now I’m doing the waiting game. I did put a call in to the nurse at the doc’s office.  I’m waiting for that return phone call too. Have I ever mentioned that I’m not the most patient person. at. all. I received a call yesterday from A. at the doc’s office and she did let me know that the chest x-ray was good. Nice, but what about the EKG and Echo? I felt like I repeated myself  A LOT, and basically got the response, your EKG was abnormal but the Echo will be able to tell the doc more about it. Huh? She had the bedside manner of a june bug. I’m of the opinion that she could have just said, “Dr. M will call you when she gets the results.” Please leave out the part of abnormal anything unless you’re prepared to give me all of the results. Or expand on what you mean by abnormal. Especially since I’m the type that will think about it until I get said phone call.  I mean you are talking about my heart. The thing that pumps your blood  and keeps you going. My HEART. Of course, stressing about it isn’t going to do any good and I was actually fine until that call yesterday. “ekg abnormal.” I was fine with not knowing. Why worry when you haven’t heard anything. I did notice that my valve was working hard last week on the Echo screen, but to my inexperienced eye (ie, non-medical) maybe that’s what it’s supposed to do? I called my sister L to question if she noticed anything ‘abnormal’ about my heart during the test last week. To her non-medical eyes too.  She gave me her thoughts and it adds up to neither one of us knew what to look for, so….lol. No matter how many times I’ve watched ER or Grey’s Anatomy, it doesn’t make me a doctor. Ha. I did look up PH on the American Heart website and the Mayo Clinic website. Note to self – don’t do that. The Mayo Clinic website is the one that really freaked me out. So I’m waiting…and waiting….and waiting…………..

Leave a Reply

